August 20, 2023

State Fair Whistling Awards Won

Contestants from across Iowa and the country put their skills to the test in the Whistling competition judged Thursday, August 17, at the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

The contest was part of “Rural Americana Olde Tyme Competitions” in Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall. A first prize of $5 and ribbons were awarded to each class.

Complete results follow:


1) Rowan Cornelius, Bondurant

2) Ezra Fitzwater, Kansas City, MO

3) Aspen Fenton, Altoona


1) Stephanie Hock, Des Moines

2) Diana Jackson, St. Charles

3) Michael Perry, Louisville, KY