Turkey Calling

August 11, 2023

Participants Talk Turkey to Win State Fair Awards

The best gobble gabbers put their skills to the test in the Turkey Calling Contest judged Thursday, August 10, at the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

Brandon De Jong of Oelwein won first place in the adult division. Erv Eiber of Monticello earned second place, and David Kerr of Des Moines claimed third place.

Brody Steenblock of Panora won first place in the youth division. Leah Triplett of What Cheer claimed second place, and Jacob Parkins of Creston earned third place.

The contest was part of “Rural Americana Olde Tyme Competitions” in Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall. A first prize of $5 and ribbons were awarded to each class.