Iowa State Fair Board Officers and Directors

The Iowa State Fair Board consists of the Governor, the Secretary of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and the President of Iowa State University; two directors from each of six geographic districts; and a secretary/ manager/ CEO. During the annual State Agricultural Convention in December, representatives of county fairs elect State Fair Boards.

  • John Harms, President

    Northeast District, Monticello

  • Dave Hoffman, Vice-President

    Northwest District, LeMars

  • Tennie Carlson, Treasurer

    North Central District, Stratford

  • Alan Brown

    North Central District, Hampton

  • Gary McConnell

    Southeast District, Bloomfield

  • Darwin Gaudian

    Northwest District, Primghar

  • Randy Brown

    South Central District, Osceola

  • Paul Vaassen

    Northeast District, Dubuque

  • C.W. Thomas

    Southwest District, Guthrie Center

  • Gary Van Aernam

    Southwest District, Exira

  • Jerry Parkin

    South Central District, Earlham

  • Curtis Claeys

    Southeast District, Grand Mound

  • Honorable Kim Reynolds

    Director by Office Held
    Governor, State of Iowa, Des Moines
    Represented by Honorable Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

  • Honorable Michael Naig

    Director by Office Held
    Secretary of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Des Moines
    Represented by Julie Kenney

  • President Wendy Wintersteen

    Director by Office Held
    President, Iowa State University, Ames
    Represented by Robert E. Dodds

  • Gary Slater

    Fair Secretary/Manager/CEO, Des Moines

Fair Board Districts

For those interested in learning which parts of Iowa are covered in a specific district.

Fair Board District Map