Horseshoes - 8.18.23

August 22, 2023

Doubles Horseshoe Pitching Winners at the Iowa State Fair

Participants from around the state competed in the Horseshoe Pitching Doubles Pro-Am Tournament and Open Singles held Friday, August 18, at the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

The Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.

Complete results below:



  1. Ron Rowley, West Des Moines and Ryan Rowley, Oskaloosa
  2. Joseph Smith, Gladbrook and Jennifer Smith, Gladbrook
  3. Vern Kollasch, Iowa City and Matt Adam, Iowa City
  4. Tim Pew, Des Moines and Jason Hall, Des Moines
  5. Kenny Wiese, Ellsworth and Pam Quade, Roland

Class A

  1. Steve Miller, Wayland and Justin Zaugg, Washington
  2. Tom Cranston, Keswick and Josh Sinnott, Bloomfield
  3. Deb Davis, Ankeny and Elizabeth DeBord, Adel
  4. Richard Cranston, Keswick and Jake Edmundson, Webster
  5. Deb Wiese, Roland and Tyler Quade, Roland

Class B

  1. Steve Hatch, Knoxville and Ginny Kingrey, Knoxville
  2. Rick Cook, Des Moines and Caleb Cook, Iowa City
  3. Brandon DeBord, Adel and Ava Sinnott, Pella
  4. Bob Wiese, Roland and Jerry Gering, Des Moines
  5. Jake Clair, Ankney and Jim Burk, Ankeny


Class A

  1. Vern Kollasch, Iowa City
  2. Steven Miller, Wayland
  3. JJ Bell, Washington
  4. John Peterson, Oskaloosa
  5. Russell Wiese, Roland

Class B

  1. Gordan Graham, Carlisle
  2. Sara Heeley, Van Meter
  3. Suzanne Miller, Wayland
  4. Damian Lanczos, Roland
  5. Paul Mosbey, Hedrick

Class C

  1. Ozzy DeGroote, Maxwell
  2. Michelle Bannister, Oskaloosa
  3. Griffin Osing, Sioux Falls, SD
  4. Doug Osing, Blakesburg
  5. Mason Catenaccio, Washington