Horseshoes 8.12.23

August 13, 2023

Participants Test Their Luck with Horseshoe Pitching

Participants from around Iowa competed in the Iowa State Doubles Championship and Open Singles division of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Saturday, August 12, at the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

The Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.


Class A

  1. Russell Wiese, Roland
  2. Jake Clair, Ankeny
  3. Cooper Wiese, Roland
  4. Damian Lanczos, Roland

Class B

  1. Nick Angle, Pomon Park, FL
  2. Tyler Nine, Chariton
  3. Tasha Nabar, Chariton
  4. Kyle Narber, Chariton



  1. Reggie Crumes, Altoona, and Jerry Hartwick, Ankeny
  2. Kristy Klejch, Creston, and Ron Rowley, West Des Moines
  3. Vern Kollasch, Iowa City, and Gail Mahler, Iowa City
  4. Pat Simon Sr., Waterloo, and Kyle Kuecker, Waterloo

Class A

  1. Dwight McGrath, Missouri Valley, and Steve Hatch, Knoxville
  2. Tom Cranston, Keswick, and Richard Cranston, Keswick
  3. Deb Davis, Ankeny, and Sheryl Mason, Grinnell
  4. Kelly Turbett, Tama, and Kevin Turbett, Tama
  5. Tim Pew, Des Moines, and Russell Wiese, Roland

Class B

  1. Ricky Ellisworth, Fort Dodge, and Cory Graves, Fort Dodge
  2. Bill Sprague, Adel, and Jake Clair, Ankeny
  3. Joe Gering, Des Moines, and Jerry Gering, Des Moines
  4. Steve Paukert, Duncombe, and Adam Olson, Fort Dodge
  5. Cooper Wiese, Roland, and Damian Lanczos, Roland