Cow Chip Throwing

August 18, 2023

Cow Chip Toss Champions Crowned at the State Fair

The top bovine scat hurlers claimed top honors in the Cow Chip Throwing competition, held Wednesday, August 16, at the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

Complete results follow:

Men 17 and older

1) Ryan McCulley, Des Moines

2) Terry Thorington, Runnells

3) Nathan Cranston, Oskaloosa

Women 17 and Over

1) Marissa Sharp, Knoxville

2) Michele Jensen, Grinnell

3) Kristen Nicholson, Batavia

Ages 5 through 16

1) Wyatt Rosenbalm, Carlisle

2) Holden Hansen, Altoona

3) Anthony Zachar, Cedar Rapids

Celebrity / VIP

1) Joey Goldstein, Des Moines

2) Beau Bowman, Clive

3) Paul Yeager, Ankeny

The contest was part of “Rural Americana Olde Tyme Competitions” in Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall. A first prize of $5 and ribbons were awarded to each class.