During the State Agricultural Society meeting on Sunday, December 15, Iowa State Fair Board Member Randy Brown, of Osceola, was the recipient of a Quilt of Valor, presented by Rod and Jeri Beem in recognition of his past military service. A Quilt of Valor is a handmade quilt meant to cover service members and veterans touched by war with comfort and healing.

Six members were re-elected to the Iowa State Fair Board of Directors during the Iowa Association of Fairs Conference and Annual Meeting held December 13-15 in Des Moines. Delegates who attended the meeting from six geographic districts in Iowa elect two board members to serve two year staggered terms on the Iowa State Fair Board. Directors re-elected to their districts were Darwin Gaudian, Primghar (northwest); Alan Brown, Hampton (north central); John Harms, Monticello (northeast); C.W. Thomas, Guthrie Center (southwest); Randy Brown, Osceola (south central); and Curtis Claeys, Grand Mound (southeast).

Board Officers for 2020 are as follows: President Dave Hoffman, LeMars (northwest), Vice President Tennie Carlson, Stratford (north central) and Treasurer Darwin Gaudian, Primghar (northwest). Other Board members include Gary Van Aernam, Exira (southwest); Jerry Parkin, Earlham (south central); Deb Zumbach, Coggon (northeast), Gary McConnell, Bloomfield (southeast). Board Members by office held are Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds (represented by Lt. Governor Adam Gregg), Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Michael Naig (represented by Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Julie Kenney), and Iowa State University President Wendy Wintersteen (represented by Robert Dodds).