Iowa State Fair

Top Honors Awarded to FFA Breeding Beef Exhibitors

August 13, 2020

Champion honors were awarded Saturday, August 8, in the FFA Breeding Beef Show at the 2020 Fair Special Edition: Iowa 4-H and FFA Livestock Show.

Supreme Champion Heifer was awarded to Mariah Steenhard of Mason City. Kyle Dolieslager of Doon claimed the Reserve Supreme Champion Heifer title.

The judge viewed 186 animals from 136 FFA exhibitors. 77 FFA chapters were represented.

Additional results below:


Champion Angus: Mariah Steenhard, West Fork FFA (Mason City)

Reserve Champion Angus: Whitney Reever, Glidden-Ralston FFA (Glidden)

Champion Charolais: Trevor Bormann, Algona FFA (Algona)

Reserve Champion Charolais: Abbi Pfeifer, Chariton FFA (Russell)

Champion Chianina: Whitney Reever, Glidden-Ralston FFA (Glidden)

Reserve Champion Chianina: Dakota Devore, Seymour FFA (Promise City)

Champion Hereford: Ethan Espenscheid, East Marshall FFA (Marshalltown)

Reserve Champion Hereford: Madeline Espenscheid, North Tama FFA (Traer)

Champion Charolais Percentage: Makenna Potter, Griswold FFA (Griswold)

Reserve Champion Charolais Percentage: Kadence Heald, Agri-Power FFA (Blakesburg)

Champion Mini Hereford: Kylie Reed, Agri-Power FFA (Ottumwa)

Reserve Champion Mini Hereford: Conner Reed, Agri-Power FFA (Ottumwa)

Champion Mainetainer: Jenna Belt, Sioux Center FFA (Orange City)

Reserve Champion Mainetainer: Trevor Bormann, Algona FFA (Algona)

Champion Shorthorn: Michael Frisbie, LaPorte Dysart FFA (Buckingham)

Reserve Champion Shorthorn: Abigail Green, West Marshall FFA (State Center)

Champion Shorthorn Plus: Joseph Reetz, Boyer Valley FFA (Dunlap)

Reserve Champion Shorthorn Plus: Allyssa Obrecht, Harlan FFA (Harlan)

Champion Simmental: Kyle Dolieslager, Rock Valley FFA (Doon)

Reserve Champion Simmental: Makia Smith, MVAO FFA (Mapleton)

Champion Low % Simmental: Carson Finch, Ballard FFA (Kelley)

Reserve Champion Low % Simmental: Kadence Heald, Agri-Power FFA (Blakesburg)

Champion AOB: Quinn Byker, Sioux Center FFA (Sioux Center)

Reserve Champion AOB: Mckayla Denio, Iowa Falls-Alden FFA (Iowa Falls)

Champion Commercial: Janie Plendl, Kingsley Pierson FFA (Kingsley)

Reserve Champion Commercial: Kailey Pick, Denison FFA (Denison)


Supreme Champion Bull: Riley Thill, Pleasantville FFA (Pleasantville)

Reserve Champion Bull: Trevor Bormann, Algona FFA (Algona)


Champion Simmental Cow/Calf Pair: Leila Shetler, East Marshall (Marshalltown)

Reserve Champion Simmental Cow/Calf Pair: Keegan Bailey, Creston FFA (Creston)

Champion AOB Cow/Calf Pairs: Cassidy Becker, Mount Ayr FFA (Diagonal)

Reserve Champion AOB Cow/Calf Pairs: Franchesca Devore, Seymour FFA (Promise City)

Champion Commercial Cow/Calf Pair: Rylie Timm, HLV FFA (Guernsey)

Reserve Champion Commercial Cow/Calf Pair: Jenna Smith, Newton FFA (Newton)

Supreme Champion Cow/Calf: Cassidy Becker, Mount Ayr FFA (Diagonal)

Reserve Champion Cow/Calf: Franchesca Devore, Seymour FFA (Promise City)


The Iowa State Fair is the single largest event in the state of Iowa and one of the oldest and largest agricultural and industrial expositions in the country. Because of safety and health concerns, the 2020 Iowa State Fair has been postponed until August 12-22, 2021. In the meantime, smaller activities include weekend food events, livestock shows and other activities as allowed. For more information, visit