Iowa State Fair

Horseshoes 8.12.22

August 23, 2022

Participants from around the Midwest competed in the Open Singles division of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Friday, August 12, at the 2022 Iowa State Fair.

The Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.


Class A

  1. Vern Kollasch, Iowa City
  2. Marty Sprague, Fort Dodge
  3. Rachel Thompson, Montezuma

Class B

  1. Caleb Cook, Des Moines
  2. Russell Wiese, Roland
  3. Bob Wiese, Roland
  4. Rick Cook, Des Moines
  5. Brandon DeBord, Adel

Class C

  1. Bart McCann, Des Moines
  2. Damian Lanczos, Roland
  3. Cooper Wiese, Roland
  4. Jason Denning, Underwood
  5. Rob Monroe, Kirkwood
  6. Anny Monroe, Kirkwood

Class D

  1. Amy Wood, Corydon
  2. Maddy Wood, Corydon
  3. Stoney Wood, Corydon
  4. Tully Wood, Corydon
  5. Linda Miller, Pleasantville
  6. Becky Oliva, Pleasantville