Iowa State Fair







Competition Results


Horseshoe Pitching: Open Singles August 14

Horseshoe Pitching: Open Singles August 14

August 19, 2021

Participants from around the country competed in the Open Singles division of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Saturday, August 14, at the 2021 Iowa State Fair.

The Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.


Class A

  1. Vern Kollasch, Iowa City
  2. Marty Sprague, Fort Dodge
  3. Ron Rowley, West Des Moines
  4. Skip Hills, Altoona
  5. Tom Cranston, Keswick

Class B

  1. Steve Hatch, Knoxville
  2. Ralph Davis, Ankeny
  3. Russell Wiese, Roland
  4. Bryan May, Des Moines
  5. Jerry Gering, Des Moines

Class C

  1. Tyler Nine, Rulless
  2. Bruce Jones, Creston
  3. Richard Mc Leod, Des Moines
  4. Chris Hughlett, New York, NY

Class D

  1. Noah Worthington, Des Moines
  2. Trevor Sabo, Urbandale
  3. Nicholas Worthington, Des Moines
  4. Angie Burger, Adel
  5. John Burger, Adel

Class E

  1. Justin Lindsey, Sioux City
  2. Angie Rojas-Lindsey, Sioux City
  3. James McCarville, Lincoln, NE
  4. Sydney Herzmann, Cedar Falls
  5. Austin Lein, Cedar Falls