Iowa State Fair





How to Enter Competitions


Competition Results


Horseshoe Pitching: Midwest Senior Classic, Open Doubles, Open Singles August 16

Horseshoe Pitching: Midwest Senior Classic, Open Doubles, Open Singles August 16

August 25, 2021

Participants from across Iowa competed in the Midwest Senior Classic, Open Doubles and Open Singles divisions of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Monday, August 16, at the 2021 Iowa State Fair.

The Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.

Complete results below:



1) Bert Logsdon, Pleasantville

2) Vern Kollasch, Iowa City

3) Reggie Crumes, Altoona

4) Skip Hills, Altoona

5) Tom Tabat, Ft. Dodge

Class A

1) Marvin Dirks, Fonda

2) Meredith Kahrig, Woodsfield

3) Deb Davis, Ankeny

4) Chris Jordan, Peru

Class B

1) Steve Hatch, Knoxville

2) Ron Hook, Fulton

3) Russell Wiese, Roland

4) Richard Cranston, Keswick

5) Ralph Davis, Ankeny


Class A

1) Tom Cranston, Keswick

Richard Cranston, Keswick

2) Lloyd Rife, Des Moines

Sharon Rife, Des Moines

3) Deb Davis, Ankeny

Elizabeth DeBord, Adel

4) Steve Hatch, Knoxville

David Brent, Pleasantville

5) Ralph Davis, Ankeny

Brandon DeBord, Adel

6) Deb Wiese, Roland

Russell Wiese, Roland

Class B

1) Jeff Greer, New Virginia

Scott Brommel, New Virginia

2) Randy Clark, Monroe

Kaden Clark, Monroe

3) Gaven Thompson, Des Moines

Parker Brewer, Runnells

4) Deb Hymbaugh, Creston

Pam Nichols, Leon

5) Joe Cleghorn, Des Moines

Caly Smith, West Des Moines

6) Trent Peacock, Des Moines

Andrew Peacock, Des Moines


Class A

1) Vern Kollasch, Iowa City

2) Troy Kahrig, Lancaster, OH

3) Kenny Wiese, Ellsworth

4) Tom Cranston, Keswick

5) Travis Kahrig, Clive

Class B

1) Toby Gaskins, Great Falls, MT

2) Mike Gaskins, Polk City

3) Brytan Bassman, Norwalk

4) Holden Bryant-Gutierres, Norwalk

5) Arlo Walljasper, New London

Class C

1) Tyson Lloyd, Lamoni

2) Kevin Lloyd, Lamoni

3) Coal Myers, Ames

4) Jett Miller, Barndall, OK