Iowa State Fair

Horseshoes 8.14.22

August 17, 2022

Participants from around Iowa competed in the Iowa State Women’s Championship and Open Singles division of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Sunday, August 14, at the 2022 Iowa State Fair.

The Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.


  1. Cooper Wiese, Roland
  2. Damian Lanczos, Roland


  1. Ella Scott, Truro
  2. Luke Smith, Gladbrook
  3. Zach Smith, Gladbrook
  4. Bailey Culver, Tama
  5. Brooklyn Wiese, Ellsworth



  1. Cathy Carter, Council Bluffs
  2. Deb Wiese, Roland
  3. Kristy Klejch, Creston
  4. Gail Maher, Iowa City
  5. Deb Davis, Ankeny
  6. Kelly Turbett, Tama

Class A

  1. Shirley Sprague, Adel
  2. Sharon Rife, Des Moines
  3. Pam Slippy, Ankeny
  4. Chris Jordan, Peru
  5. Briget Carroll, Ankeny


Class A

  1. Reggie Crumes, Altoona
  2. Vern Kollasch, Iowa City
  3. Marty Sprague, Fort Dodge
  4. Steve Hatch, Knoxville

Class B

  1. Terry Stiles, Maxwell
  2. Russell Wiese, Roland
  3. Brandon DeBord, Adel
  4. Henry Morning, Anamosa
  5. Ricky Ellisworth, Fort Dodge

Class C

  1. Tom Hay, Maxwell
  2. Zach Stiles, Maxwell
  3. Darrin Williams, Maxwell
  4. Kevin Tankersley, Maxwell
  5. Gary Hart, Urbandale

Bobby Hart, Urbandale