The annual Iowa State Fair Queen competition is held during the Iowa State Fair as county queens from all over the state of Iowa come together to vie for the coveted crown. Judging is based on personality, attitude, leadership, citizenship, contribution to community, overall appearance, charm and poise.

Was there a 2020 Iowa State Fair Queen contest? The Iowa State Fair Queen contest brings together county fair queens showcasing the very best in personality, leadership, citizenship, charm, poise and contributions to our local communities. We were sad we couldn't hold this prestigious competition in 2020, but we have confidence that our reigning Queen, Hannah Koellner, from Mahaska County, will represent us well until the 2021 competition is held on August 14, 2021.

Hannah Koellner

Hannah Koellner

Eddyville, Mahaska County

Hannah Koellner of Mahaska County is the 2019 Iowa State Fair Queen. Hannah is the daughter of Jim and Kim Koellner of Eddyville.

Hannah is an active member of 4-H and FFA, in which she has served as secretary and vice president and has entered static exhibits.  She plans to attend William Penn University to major in elementary education and to be a member of the competitive dance team.

Past Iowa State Fair Queens

  • 2018Hailey Swan Bloomfield, Davis County
  • 2017Jacqueline Ehrlich Dubuque, Dubuque County
  • 2016Amanda Riniker Winthrop, Buchanan County
  • 2015Ellen Schlarmann Monticello, Jones County
  • 2014Elizabeth Glover Spencer, Clay County
  • 2013Kelsey Smith Mount Pleasant, Henry County
  • 2012Abrah Meyer Readlyn, Bremer County
  • 2011Paris Schnepf Granville, O'Brien County
  • 2010Lacy Stevenson Knoxville, Marion County
  • 2009Caine Westergard Ireton, Plymouth County
  • 2008Ashley Quade Calhoun County
  • 2007Abby Salton Clay County
  • 2006Lydia Beck Buckingham, Black Hawk County
  • 2005Stephanie Miller Fayette County
  • 2004Courtney R. Barnes Adel, Madison County
  • 2003Jessie Hutcheson Morning Sun, Des Moines County
  • 2002Katie Lantz Lytton, Calhoun County
  • 2001Celeste Ogren Marcus, Cherokee County
  • 2000Katie Greiman Waterloo, Black Hawk County
  • 1999Abby Menke Cherokee, Cherokee County
  • 1998Leah Rae Campbell Rudd, Floyd County
  • 1997Rebecca Earles Traer, Tama County
  • 1996Lisa Ahrens Osage, Mitchell County
  • 1995Cindy Ahrens Hampton, Franklin County
  • 1994Lindzy Jones Aurelia, Cherokee County
  • 1993Julie Wolterman Danbury, Ida County
  • 1992Bobbi Jo Post Doon, Lyon County
  • 1991Tara Henderson West Des Moines, Polk County
  • 1990Amy Bryant Aurelia, Cherokee County
  • 1989Ann Jennett Early, Sac County
  • 1988Lisa Waldon Clarion, Wright County
  • 1987Andrea Pruessner Rockford, Cerro Gordo County
  • 1986Emily Cline West Liberty, Muscatine County
  • 1985Brenda Johnson Slater, Polk County
  • 1984Debra Graham Ida Grove, Ida County
  • 1983Lori White Plainfield, Bremer County
  • 1982Colleen Martin Huxley, Story County
  • 1981Jill Kelley Council Bluffs, Pottawattamie County
  • 1980Teri Lynn Hodnefield Radcliffe, Hardin County
  • 1979Jeanne McGreevey Ackley, Hardin County
  • 1978Karen Kleen Gilmore City, Humboldt County
  • 1977Tami Kuhn Ames, Story County
  • 1976Lori Zorning Rock Rapids, Lyon County
  • 1975Brenda Kincade Glenwood, Mills County
  • 1974Lisa Plumb Glenwood, Mills County
  • 1973Elaine Kimberly Collins, Story County
  • 1972Dianne Sue Anderson Glenwood, Mills County
  • 1971Carolee Johnson Ellsworth, Hardin County
  • 1970Janet Holt Klemme, Hancock County
  • 1969Julie Morlan Bloomfield, Davis County
  • 1968Jolene Tiarks McClelland, Pottawatamie County
  • 1967Diana Stuart Bloomfield, Davis County
  • 1966Danna Vetter Manson, Calhoun County
  • 1965Connie Schaffer Gravity, Taylor County
  • 1964Beth Ann McKee St. Charles, Madison County